you thought I died, didn’t you?

I didn’t die but I did kind of forget I had a blog.  No, not really that either. Whenever something I do for fun starts to feel like an obligation, I run. Hard in the other direction. Blogging started to feel that way so I pushed it far away.

I haven’t been up to tons but have intentionally been cutting back on any of the unnecessaries. I find that I can lean too far one way and ruin a good thing. None of this probably makes sense but thats okay, because I’m moving on in 3, 2, 1.

Since the miserable post I posted last I’ve done some new things.  Nothing groundbreaking, just new.

I started watching Design Star. It ended last week but added a fun little extra to my Monday nights.

Meg’s designs we’re my favorite most of the time {her voice was not} so I was so happy when she won, even though I thought Karl was awkwardly funny.

I made a coffee filter wreath {see I told you nothing groundbreaking}.

{source}

They are plastered all over the internet but I was looking for something to hang over the fireplace for fall. I already had a wreath form so I just needed coffee filters. Easy peasy. It did take me two nights to work on though which is something I DO NOT like to do.  I’m impatient and hasty and like to see the end result in an hour. {But, like I said, I’m turning over a new leaf and not pushing myself to make something that’s normally fun, not.} Mine looks almost identical to this one.

I finished a project that has been in the works for almost an entire year! It wasn’t a constant effort, at all.  But, I finally made it happen. It’s a logo for some friends’ dad and his band.

You can see them play here.

I have tried a couple new recipes. One for a pasta salad that is sooo good. It was love at first sight when I saw it in this month’s Southern Living. You can find the recipe here.

It’s a great way to use up those grapes that are about to go bad and an excellent excuse to eat bacon. It IS salad after all.  ; )

The other recipe was for fantastic peanut butter cookies. Oh my word, these are not like any cookie I have had. Super easy and you probably already have all the ingredients. {There are only 5!}

You can find the recipe here.

I also started reading a real live book.  {well kinda, it’s on my Kindle} But you know what I mean, it’s not a magazine, blog, my Bible or a twitter feed. And ya’ll, it’s soo good.

{source}

I’ve been following The Nester, and found her sister’s blog, Chatting at the Sky which is how I came across the book.  She wrote it!! Wow! Grace for the Good Girl is written for and to soo many of us. If you’ve always considered yourself a “good girl” because you strive for perfection, to please others, to “do the right thing” you need to read this book. Emily wants us all to join her to become Recovering Good Girls. {I didn’t do it justice, you’ll just have to read about it and buy it here.}

There’s this other new thing I’ve been doing. Zija!

Every morning I shake up a packet of xm+ in to water and head out for an early morning walk. What?! Yeah, I’ve been walking and even running before work. I can’t believe it either but going to bed early actually DOES help you wake up in the mornings. Zija has also helped me so much in the way of my health: energy, allergies, headaches and weight loss. I really do feel better with Zija.

Yep, I think that’s about it.  What have YOU been up to??

Leave a Reply

