a {simple!} guide for studying Scripture

I get distracted when studying the Bible.

There, I said it.

If I don’t have a guide or I’m not in an all white room with only a chair {which is never} I find it hard to focus. Not just on Scripture but anything really. That’s why I’ve found this method of Bible study perfect for me, short , sweet and to the point. It doesn’t necessarily lend itself to in-depth historical study or anything like that but makes it easy to just simply hear from God. Wonderful.

Here, Pricilla Shirer discusses the 5 P’s of Bible study.  I’ve also written them here for you in case you can’t watch the video or just don’t want to, but she obviously goes into more detail and describes this process better than I ever will.

The 5 P’s of Bible Study

1. Position yourself to hear from God. This is where the struggle begins for me. Go to a place where you won’t be  distracted, turn off your phone, do whatever it takes to put yourself in a place or position where you can really connect with and hear from God.

2. Pour over the passage and paraphrase the major points.  Meditate, ponder, spend time in a small portion of the Word.  Just a few verses is plenty to chew on–we’re not talking whole chapters here.
This doesn’t have to be fancy, just in your own words, describe what you just read.

3. Pull out spiritual principles. What does the part I just read reveal to me about the character of God? What do I think God is trying to tell me here?  Is there something to be learned from this passage?

4. Pose the question. Put yourself under examination of the Spirit and ask yourself questions from the spiritual principles.  Am I following the command? Do I believe what Scripture says here?  What need to change in me to be in line with this passage? Don’t forget to record your answers.

5. Plan obedience and pin down a date to obey. If you have been convicted, challenged or encouraged by the passage, make a plan of action to change, to act, to start doing something, to stop doing something. Whatever it may be, make sure you have a strategy for making it happen.

________________________

I realize there are tons of other methods to study and different things work for different people but this is something I found to be really helpful in hearing from God.

…and because it’s like my new thing to design things for you all to print, here are the 5P’s summed up as a quick reference that you can tape to the inside of your journal or put in a little frame close to where you “Position yourself to hear from God.” : )

There is a color one and a black and white one and they’re each 5″x7″

     



One thought on “a {simple!} guide for studying Scripture

  1. I have that same problem! Glad I’m not alone:) Thanks for the pdf. I love your prints! (I put the Bon Appetit sign I won from you in an apothecary jar in my kitchen and i LOVE it!)

Leave a Reply

