y’all.

I think this is the best dessert I have ever had. No joke.

It’s from Paula Deen– you know, the one who said “excuse me y’all while I make love to this baked potato.”  on TV. While I sat and watched her make only faces Paula can make. While eating food only the way Paula can eat food. Which is slow. To no music. It was awkward so I never watched her show again.

Buuut, we do share a love of all things buttery and bad for the figure. This is where “Gooey Butter Cake” comes into play. My cousin made this last week and I just happened to have one {or two} slices while sitting her girls. I think I almost died they were soo good.

Jus and I had people over on Saturday and I knew exactly what dessert I was going to make. They were a hit, y’all. We’ve been calling them Gooey Bars which seems more fitting. And yes, you read it right. TWO sticks of butter. Enjoy!

Servings: 6 to 8 servings {I think it seems more than that}
Prep Time: 30 min
Cook Time: 40 min
Difficulty: Easy

{ingredients}

Cake:
1   18 1/4-ounce package yellow cake mix
1   egg
8   tablespoons of butter, melted
Filling:
1    8-ounce package cream cheese, softened
2    eggs
1    teaspoon vanilla
8    tablespoons butter, melted
1    16-ounce box powdered sugar

{directions}

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Combine the cake mix, egg, and butter and mix well with an electric mixer.  Pat the mixture into the bottom of a lightly greased 13 by 9-inch baking pan.  Prepare Filling

In a large bowl, beat the cream cheese until smooth.  Add the eggs, vanilla, and butter and beat together.

Next, add the powdered sugar and mix well.  Spread over cake batter and bake for 40 to 50 minutes.  Make sure not to over bake as the center should be a little gooey.

 

photo and recipe courtesy of pauladeen.com

Leave a Reply

