my word.

For the past week or so on the way to work I’ve been listening to the radio hosts talk about “their word” for the year. People have been calling in sharing what “their word” is.  They’re talking about a word that would define what their vision for the year would be. Where they feel like the Lord is calling them focus this year.  I thought about what my word would be and felt like it was “be”.

It came to me when reading a letter from the book we’re reading at work, Let Go. I was encouraged to be still and quiet in the presence of God. This is a problem for me because I am a do-er. It’s hard for me to sit still, to be quite and a lot of times hard to be alone for a long time. I am very aware that most of the time I will become lost in a task whether I like it or not, I’m driven to do. It makes me tired when I feel like something is left undone. Even if I don’t do it I think about about it needing to be done whatever it may be. This year I want to just be. I want to be available to my husband, friends and family. I want to be free to walk away from a task and just let it go. That doesn’t mean I am going to walk away from responsibility but put investing in being over doing. In figuring out how to be who God made me to be.

This year I am going to try my hardest to be a human being instead of a human doing. I am determined to just be. BUT, I know that the only way I can do that is to just let go of the doing and give it to God.

Have you ever thought about having “a word” or do you come up with a “vision statement” for yourself? Maybe it’s a scripture?

Leave a Reply

