Hello 2011!

Don’t you just love a fresh start? It’s what I loove about a new year! It’s like the first blank page of a shiny new notebook. It’s a time to reflect upon the past year and grasp the upcoming days, weeks and months.  It’s exciting to think of the possibilities of what’s to come in the upcoming year and how you will look back January 1, 2012 and know then what you don’t know now.

Along with fresh start usually comes a resolution to either do or not do something that was on your slate before you wiped it clean.

I’ve never really made a resolution but this year I am definitely going to give it a try. My life circumstances have changed so much over the last 12 months that new interests have pushed out some of the old that really were truly beneficial to me. So I have come up with three resolutions this year that hopefully I can achieve.

1. Lose 25-3o lbs. I have never fought my weight or a negative self image. Until now. With a 100% decrease in exercise over the past year I have put on as much weight as I want to lose. With a combination of no exercise, poor eating habits from stress or busyness and with an addition of three new medications known for weight gain to my daily routine, my body has taken a complete bashing. It literally feels like I am an inflated balloon. I struggle with confidence and find it hard to be around friends and family because I don’t even feel like I’m in my own body. I don’t want to feel this way anymore which leads me to my next resolution.

2. Try to get off of all of my medications this year {except allergy meds}. I am too young to have a pill counter but I do. I want to start replacing prescriptions with more natural remedies and exercise. Exercise is known to have a more powerful effect on the brain than some of the strongest psychological drugs. Wow.  Because I know my depression and anxiety is physiological, not situational, I know that there are lifestyle changes that I can make to help. This will also take time as these sorts of medications must be slowly decreased over time with a doctor’s monitoring. I plan on scheduling an appointment soon to begin discussion on how I can get off.

3. Spend more time in the Word. It stinks to admit but when my life gets crazy it seems like my time with the Lord is the first to get pushed out. It makes me sad and I know it makes Him sad. I also realize how being separated from God makes me suffer in so many ways. I try doing things in my own power instead of through the Lord’s and I end up failing at it all. My flesh tries to be better at time management, be a better wife and friend, be a more productive employee, be healthier, be blah, blah, blah…  I can’t do one thing on this Earth in my power and be as successful as I would be with the Lord’s help. I was thankful for this reminder I got from a daily e-mail devotional. I can make all the New Year’s resolutions I want but if I’m not including the Lord in my plans, I will break my resolutions before January 1 is over.  So I resolve to spend time with the Lord to be taught and led through the upcoming year. I know what life is like with Him in it and without, and I know that life with Him is MUCH better.

Do you make New Year’s Resolutions? Share how you feel about them or what yours are for 2011.

Part of my first resolution of losing weight is to get better at planning meals. Sooo… I have created a calendar to use that you can download too. You don’t have to use it just for meals but for staying organized too!  Click on the image for a printable pdf.

Wishing you the best for 2011!

2 thoughts on “Hello 2011!

  1. first of all, i am rooting for you! sounds like you have really thought through these resolutions and i know you can achieve them. you are such a strong person, and your family and friends love you and will always support you! your laugh is adorable and i love your subtle sense of humor ~ i want to hear these things more often! :)

    second, thank you so much for having us all over over the break. i loved spending time with you and am obsessed with all the things you and justin have done to your cute home!

    third, even though i am not in town, my phone still works. if you need someone to talk to, please call! i am happy to listen and provide girly support.

    last, that calendar is adorbs. wish i had a printer…

    love you my sweet friend!

Leave a Reply

