The News & a GIVEAWAY!

So today’s the day you’ve been waiting for!  Okay, maybe all one of you.

Restored to Life is expanding to a shop. It’s not fully established yet so I won’t go into too much detail, but it’s a God breathed dream that I’m happy to have finally grasped on to. I was born to create. I know it’s how the Lord designed me. Over the past few months my hunger for creative outlets have intensified. It honestly doesn’t matter what I’m creating, I just have to do it. {Unless it’s creating a budget or a resume or something like that}. It has to inspire and have a personality. Anyhoo, I don’t know where I am going with this..

Back on the ranch. In the summer I began to bounce ideas and dreams off of Justin about making things and selling them. Setting up a shop of things I love. Something for fun and on the side. And after just days of these discussions and bouts of dreaming, this happened.

Jones Design Company announced the coming of a workshop for people looking to follow a dream of creating and selling. Wow. It was the perfect storm. I signed up and am still working through the steps in coordination to actually creating things. There are soo many things involved with having a business {and some of them not so fun}. All the legal stuff that goes along with owning a business is what worries me the most. But I am trying to take it slow.

One part of the workshop was “discovering your product”.  Emily’s suggestion was to focus on one product and then later expand to more so you do not become overwhelmed.  I tried to take her advice, but I just find that I love so many things. My original intent was to focus on stationary, because I love paper.  But I love gifts too. Anything fun, creative and unique.  So that’s why I have expanded to “paper & gifts”.

So in other words I want to sell whatever, it doesn’t matter as long as I created it.  I love to try new projects that I see in stores and online. I definitely won’t claim that anything I sell is an original idea, but what makes it mine is my spin on it.  My co-workers would say, “It’s so restored to life.” {which I have just learned to embrace}.  It’s about my take on a project, the way I pair colors together and coordinate designs is what makes it me.

And just to answer any questions, this is not intended to replace my full time job in the church.  I love my job.  This is just something on the side. With a husband studying almost all the time this is a great way to stay out of his hair and do what I love.

I’ll be having a “shop” page here on the blog where you will be linked to checkout at etsy.com. I know I didn’t go into much detail about what products are coming.  But that will come when I launch the shop page soon! Some of the items include hair accessories, home accessories, notecards, stationary and invitations with the occasional custom design.

 

So there you have it…Restored to Life is creating and gifting now. Hooray!  Soo, in honor of a sort-of shop launch. I’m having a GIVEAWAY!  One lucky reader will win a set of notecards– just one of the products in the Restored to Life gift shop, if you will. :)


To be eligible to win you must comment on this post with the color of the notecard set you want AND what handmade or designed item you would like to see Restored to Life sell. I will close registration and announce a winner on Monday, November 8.

The winner will receive 8 matching, folded cards in the color of their choice. Colors are plum, mustard, storm and natural. Each card measures slightly larger than 4×6 and set comes with 8 white envelopes.

Keep checking in for more details on the shop! And don’t forget to comment for the giveaway!

 

7 thoughts on “The News & a GIVEAWAY!

  1. Ooooh I think storm is most definitely my favorite & I’d love to see baby stuff on the website/store (they are always hot items!). I loved the burp rags you gave Abby for her shower – so cute!

  2. Hey Shannon! Congrats! So exciting that you’re starting such a fun business! I vote that you sell some of the super cute pillows that you’ve made and featured on your blog! You really can’t go wrong, though. You are so creative ad crafty I’m sure anything you sell will be great!

  3. I’m so excited for you. I love the blue notecards and think you need to make more of those adorable burp cloths. So cool. I’m excited for ya.

  4. Yay for the new shop! I can’t wait to see your creations! I think I’d like the plum cards! I might be being selfish but I’d love if you made bows and applique (sp?) onesies and petticoats. But I’m sure I’ll love the paper stuff and house stuff too!! J might have to hold me back from being your biggest customer:)

  5. congrats shannon! i feel like this is perfect for you :)

    i love the storm cards and i think you should make some of those door hangers that were our specialty at newtown.

Leave a Reply

