Discipline

Discipline.  The word makes me think of childhood and time outs, but I am learning to look at it differently. Now that I’m a grown up. And have responsibilities.

I heard something on the radio last week that really, really, really made me think.  I shared it with my husband and my boss and have been contemplating sharing it with you.

“Would you rather suffer through the pain of discipline or suffer with the pain of regret?”

They were asking the question in the context of texting while driving, but to me it expanded so much farther. You could ask yourself this question in any area of your life.

Would you rather suffer through the pain of waiting to send that text until you stop or suffer through the pain of regret when you fatally hit a pedestrian?

Would you rather suffer through the pain of of studying for that test or suffer through the pain of regret when you have to repeat the class?

Would you rather suffer through the pain of disciplining yourself to actually work while at work or suffer through the regret of losing your job?

Would you rather suffer through the pain of putting down that second cupcake or suffer through the pain of regret when your doctor tells you you’re on the brink of diabetes.

You can fill in the blanks with anything you are struggling to discipline yourself to do. I did and it changed my whole outlook. Go ahead, Try it.

Leave a Reply

