Contentment

I feel like I have recently been catching myself a lot saying, “I can’t wait until…”

“I can’t wait until we can finish building the patio..”

“I can’t wait until our office is finished..”

“I can’t wait until we can get a new washer and dryer, and get rid of our carpet, and go on this trip and get a new…blah blah blah.”

All this wanting and impatience I feel makes me sick to my stomach. I need to start praying for contentment with what Justin and I DO have.

We DO have a house to share.  We DO have a roof to keep us dry and we DO have walls to keep us warm.  We DO have a precious dog to make us laugh and we DO have a yard for her to play. We DO have available and active families. We DO have clean water for showers and laundry and we DO have a pantry with food. We DO have money that we DO have to budget. We DO have each other and we DO have the Lord’s favor and protection.

If I look at others and expect to feel content, I never will be. I feel like the blogosphere is a dangerous place that can breed comparison and jealousy and lack of contentment.  I find myself perusing through pages of others “lives” and wish for a house like theirs, a vacation like theirs, a more organized life like theirs…It’s a dangerous place to be.

So, for now I will pray praises of thankfulness for what we DO have and for the Lord to open my eyes to the daily blessings that are all around me. I will pray that the Lord will close my eyes to the things around our house that I want to change and need to be done and open my eyes to the things we do have.

I will pray that the Lord makes me aware when discontentment strikes and that he gives me a truth to fight back.

2 thoughts on “Contentment

Leave a Reply

