Transparency

Something that has been on my mind the last couple of months is transparency. And, I don’t mean the way my skin looks right now because I am so pale. I’m talking about being open about who you are, the way the Lord is moving in your life, your fears and your doubts, burdens and shame. I have slowly and painfully learned the importance of transparency in my life. Of letting people in, past the shell that is who I am to the rest of the world.

Very early in my relationship with Justin we learned the importance of being transparent, open and honest with each other. It wasn’t easy. Actually, it was very very hard. But wow. What a bond the Lord has formed between us by way of our communicating. It’s not always easy but we know the bond is much tighter than the one the world tries to offer us. But mind you, trust had to be earned for us to each be able to be vulnerable and open with each other.

What I know about him, the good, the bad, the ugly doesn’t make me love him less. It makes me love him more.

Starting six weeks ago my team began, one by one each week, to each share their story. And, not like an overview of places we’ve lived, schools we’ve been to etc. etc.  It had to be defining moments. Moments that made us who we are.  Life changing events however big or small they may be that have brought us to this point in our lives.

The preparation for doing this was painful. It meant taking a good honest look at my life and that was scary.  And what was scarier was telling four other people, all eyes on me, who I am and how I got here. Being transparent requires much bravery, but the reward is much freedom. A lifting of the burden of silence and darkness that lay over your heart and mind. As a result of transparency, we don’t have to put on a front or beat around the bush with each other any more. What we know about each other, the good, the bad, the ugly doesn’t make us love each other less.  It makes makes us love each other more.

“Carry each other’s burdens, and in this way you will fulfill the law of Christ.” {Galatians 6:2}

Do you have the freedom to be transparent with anyone?  To let them into the depths of you and to help you carry your burden?

2 thoughts on “Transparency

  1. Great thoughts, Shannon. I was amazed at what God did with the time we spent sharing our stories. I have a theory that “knowing our full story” is one of the reasons God loves us so much. It’s easier to forgive, love and be available to someone when you know why they are the way they are. What a gift. Thanks for sharing!

  2. “What i know about him….doesn’t make me love him less. It makes me love him more.” Wow! we could all learn alot from that statement of truth. Well written. Now on to the wedding.

Leave a Reply

