Nest Sentiment Pillow

Before I start into my pillow reveal I want to give a big thanks to Kristi Durbin for taking all the pictures for my blog header and pages this weekend. She graciously agreed to help me out, because she’s an awesome friend and photographer and as for the latter you all know that’s not my strong point.  She has agreed to help me out some other time to learn how to use my camera! Thanks Kristi for helping me out and to the both of you for hosting us this weekend for yummy sushi and community!

Also, you all have probably noticed I’ve had an entire blog-look overhaul.  I couldn’t take that hideous color scheme any more so I made some changes! Hope it’s easier on the eyes! And, now on to other news…

A couple of weeks ago got a Pottery Barn catalogue that featured this…

It’s called “Nest Sentiment Lumbar Pillow” and can be found here. I thought it was super cute but there was no way I was going to pay $50 for it so I put the catalogue out of sight and out of mind. But, my mom showed it to me a couple of days later, said it was cute and I could probably make it!  Hey, now that’s something I can do. I read that it’s screen printed on a linen-hemp blend. How I wish I had seen this a year ago in my screen-printing class where I had no limits on materials to use.  But since I’m not in there any more, fabric paint and stencils would have to do and here is what I ended up with!

The fonts aren’t exactly the same and the fabric is a little bit lighter but that’s okay with me!  I was able to crank out a 12″x24″ pillow for under $10.  Here’s how I did it.

{Instructions}

I cut a 12″x48″ piece of 100% cotton fabric, folded it in half {short side to short side} and sewed a long side and the unfolded short side together and flipped the fabric right side out. {I bought a yard and a half of material–- You really don’t need this much but the cutting lady convinced me to get the extra half yard.  She does it every time..}

Then, I wrapped the lid of a gift box in wax paper and slid it inside the opening to protect the paint from going through to the back side.

Once I printed out the words onto card stock, I cut out all the letters and traced the words onto the pillow with a disappearing ink pen. {You can kind of see the ink in the picture below}

Then I used an acrylic paint mixed with a fabric medium to make it suitable for fabric and painted in all the letters.

I let it dry for 24 hours.  If you want to be able to wash it you will have to heat set the paint by following the instructions but I didn’t do that.

I then folded the final side’s edges into the pillow {about a 1/2″}, ironed them down and sewed it up about 3/4 of the way, leaving enough room to add the stuffing.  I had to make a gigantic pillow in one of my classes so I just ripped that baby open to get some of the filling.  You will need to stuff it with a polyester filling. It’s helpful to use a yardstick or something non-sharp to push the filling into the corners. You can put in as much or as little as you like– It just depends on how you like your pillows!

I then sewed up the rest of the side and was finished!

I found my inspiration from a catalogue but you can really paint any design onto any fabric and make it into a pillow!

3 thoughts on “Nest Sentiment Pillow

  1. You should try building another pillow, but sewed on all four sides for uniformity. That one un-sewed edge would drive me bonkers.

    Also, maybe using the acrylic paint to draw a raptor or a t-rex? Just a thought.

Leave a Reply

