Sew Hot

After a couple of years of bouncing around the blogosphere and looking at many crafting and decorating blogs I have collected many ideas and projects to pursue.  I recently ran across this project and felt like I must try it. {I will give my instructions on how I did it, but for further instructions and more detailed pictures you may want to visit my inspiration site.}

My mom and I got a sewing machine when I was in high school and had high expectations for what we could produce. Those expectations lasted for about the six seconds it took us to look at the first page of the instruction book and realize we had no clue what it was talking about. Fast forward to my Senior year of college in my art studio fiber course. We  had a couple days of learning to sew in the costume shop with a very seasoned sewing instructor. Lets just say I was so terrible at the project that the instructor looked at my work and then at me and said, “In all my years I have never seen anyone do this.”  He had to take the machine apart to fix what I had done. Oops.

Well, this weekend I put those bad sewing memories in a box, threw them out and look what I did!

Finished Rice Bag

It’s a rice bag that’s used as a cordless heating pad!  Luckily, there was no reason to make this now other than pure motivation to learn to sew, but I am sure the next time I go skiing or sleep funny and get a sore neck this baby will get some serious action.

Here were the main ingredients:

• A super cute, on-sale, geometric blue and white 100% Cotton Fabric

• 100% Cotton thread

• 6 cups of rice

• 2 Chamomile tea bags

• will-power

I cut a 9″x36″ piece of fabric, folded it in half and ironed it right sides facing in. I sewed the two long sides, left the short side open and flipped it so it faced right side out and ironed it again. It looked like this:

Then I used a disappearing ink fabric pen to mark four equal sections across the width of the fabric {I think it was 4.5″ for each section}. I sewed along the marker line closest to the closed edge and left enough space to fit rice in.

I poured in 1.5 cups of rice and half of a tea bag, maneuvered the rice around so it was away from the opening and sewed that section up. Continue to do this for each section.  On the last section I folded the ends in a little bit and ironed them down so they would be easier to sew.  Sew and fill this section the same as before. TA-DA! You’ve sewn something!

Heat in microwave for 2.5 to 3 minutes. Even though I didn’t need it at the time I used it anyway and let my parents try it too. My dad said it smelled like the petting zoo at the state fair but I liked it…maybe because I handcrafted it. I carried it around like it was an egg because I was afraid my sewing job wasn’t up to snuff and I would have to clean up six cups of rice strewn over the living room.  As time passed and there were no rice explosions, I felt more confident in my skills. I think I’m going to try a smaller one to be frozen and used for headaches! Maybe scented with peppermint tea…mmm.

3 thoughts on “Sew Hot

  1. yay!! congrats on the project AND on your first official post!! :)

    your dad cracks me up…he always has something silly to say that makes others around him smile..i’m sure your project smells delightful. i think a headache bag would be good for you as well ~ poor girl knows a thing or two about sinus headaches!

    p.s. thanks for getting lunch with me today. love you!

  2. Yeah for blogging! The heating pad looks great. You and Kristi and Emily will have to get together for sewing parties now (since it seems you all own machines and love to create).

    I’ll be keeping up with your blog. Keep writing!

Leave a Reply

